Aciphex aka Rabeprazole; How it Works, Mistakes, Harm, & What to Do



AciphexReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (3/29/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Aciphex works well! After having severe side effects from Prilosec, I was put on Aciphex twice a day. Aciphex worked well. I had occasional breakthrough reflux but it was tolerable. The only reason I was taken off of it was because my insurance no longer covered it. If I had to switch PPIs, I would not hesitate to go back on Aciphex.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 152 months ago (3/29/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Barrett's esophagusReport

Aciphex works well! After having severe side effects from Prilosec, I was put on Aciphex twice a day. Aciphex worked well. I had occasional breakthrough reflux but it was tolerable. The only reason I was taken off of it was because my insurance no longer covered it. If I had to switch PPIs, I would not hesitate to go back on Aciphex.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 153 months ago (2/27/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Great for GERD I used this drug for the treatment of GERD for approximately 2 1/2 years. It was the most effective I found and I was able to use it for the longest before it quit working. In the end I was taking it several times a day but got no relief. Nissen fundoplication was the answer for me.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 153 months ago (2/23/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Constipation (IBS-C)Report

Pariet, Heartburn & Constipation The most interesting change in my life since I started taking this drug (PARIET)is not only the disappearance of acid indigestion and heartburn but also the disappearance of constipation from which I have suffered for many years. It would be interesting to know if others are experiencing this added benefit. I no longer use any heartburn tablets (tums, etc.) At this point, I must consider this a pharmacuetical extraordinaire! I do hope there are no long term negative effects.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 153 months ago (2/23/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Pariet, Heartburn & Constipation The most interesting change in my life since I started taking this drug (PARIET)is not only the disappearance of acid indigestion and heartburn but also the disappearance of constipation from which I have suffered for many years. It would be interesting to know if others are experiencing this added benefit. I no longer use any heartburn tablets (tums, etc.) At this point, I must consider this a pharmacuetical extraordinaire! I do hope there are no long term negative effects.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 154 months ago (1/31/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Aciphex clearly better for me After being diagnosed with GERD and a small area of Barrett's, the doctor prescribed Aciphex. Within a few days, my symptoms improved dramatically and soon I was able to eat "regular" foods (nothing too spicy or acidic, but more than just comfort foods like mashed potatoes and saltines!).

I know the Aciphex, specifically, is the more effective variety among the PPIs for me because, when we sent in my next Rx to our mail-order pharmacy, they substituted (without my consent) omeprazole. I didn't notice the change in the medication on the label and continued to take it as I had the Aciphex. When I began to feel terrible GERD symptoms again, I took a close look at the bottle's label, did a little googling and discovered that omeprazole isn't merely the generic version of the Aciphex but an entirely different variety.

I got my doctor to write specifically for Aciphex and haven't had any trouble since (unless I start drinking a lot of caffein, which I sometimes do to relieve my CFS and sleep disorder symptoms, unfortunately).

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 154 months ago (1/31/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Barrett's esophagusReport

Aciphex clearly better for me After being diagnosed with GERD and a small area of Barrett's, the doctor prescribed Aciphex. Within a few days, my symptoms improved dramatically and soon I was able to eat "regular" foods (nothing too spicy or acidic, but more than just comfort foods like mashed potatoes and saltines!).

I know the Aciphex, specifically, is the more effective variety among the PPIs for me because, when we sent in my next Rx to our mail-order pharmacy, they substituted (without my consent) omeprazole. I didn't notice the change in the medication on the label and continued to take it as I had the Aciphex. When I began to feel terrible GERD symptoms again, I took a close look at the bottle's label, did a little googling and discovered that omeprazole isn't merely the generic version of the Aciphex but an entirely different variety.

I got my doctor to write specifically for Aciphex and haven't had any trouble since (unless I start drinking a lot of caffein, which I sometimes do to relieve my CFS and sleep disorder symptoms, unfortunately).

Report
1 Stars
Posted 155 months ago (1/6/2006)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Aciphex & Depression/Eye problems I have been using aciphex for about 2 years. I also started on Zocor (for cholesterol) at about the same time. Since then, I just haven't felt like myself. I assumed it was from the Zocor. I would have eye muscle pain. Several weeks ago I started having severe anxiety attacks. My GERD got a lot worse so the DR then increased my dose of aciphex 2x daily. About a month later, I sunk into a pretty bad depressive state. I was always sad and felt like crying - in addition to anxiety attacks. Well, I stopped taking the aciphex 2 days ago and I do not have the eye pain anymore and I don't seem to be as depressed. Both are side effects of Aciphex. It's amazing how a little pill can cause so much change in your life! Update Jan 2006: Discontinued using Aciphex back in Dec. 2004. My Dr. tried prescribing additional Proton Pump Inhibitors and I had the same side effects. I completely came off all acid medication and a few weeks later had blood work done. My liver function tests were now normal(prior to that, my LFTs were all elevated about twice the normal limit). My Dr. then seemed to take me more seriously about my reaction to Aciphex and my side effects. It was determined that I am allergic to all Proton Pump Inhibitor medications. I now take Zantac as needed and it works like a charm for me. I actually have less Reflux now that I don't take aciphex! According the the Aciphex website, there ARE short and long term studies that document adverse reactions in a few people. However rare, they do happen.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 155 months ago (12/19/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

amy Aciphex is a good med. to take.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 155 months ago (12/12/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

So far, so good. After being on Aciphex for just over a week, I am happy to say that it seems to work as well as Nexium for me, without the severe headache side effect. No other side effects so far. UPDATE- Been on it a month now, and it's somewhat lost it's effectiveness, I have to take two a day about 3x a week. UPDATE- Been on this over 2 months now, having to take it 2x day most days but it still seems to work well enough. No side effects at all. Still using samples, switched to Prilosec OTC when DSHS would not pay for this.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 156 months ago (11/10/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

great no problem and with swallowing problem its just the right size and can eat more now without a lot of acid and can enjoy food better. just a little over pricey i think.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/27/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Hiatal herniaReport

Just started Aciphex I was diagnosed 12 years ago with "GERD" ... less than 2 years ago with a hiatial hernia ... and in Sept 2005 had my gall bladder removed. I have used so many different pills and diets over the years and I STILL have heartburn, acid reflux and pain and discomfort. I used NEXIUM for almost 2 years - it worked for awhile, but then stopped. Have just started the Aciphex - will update in a few months to let you know my opinion.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/27/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Just started Aciphex I was diagnosed 12 years ago with "GERD" ... less than 2 years ago with a hiatial hernia ... and in Sept 2005 had my gall bladder removed. I have used so many different pills and diets over the years and I STILL have heartburn, acid reflux and pain and discomfort. I used NEXIUM for almost 2 years - it worked for awhile, but then stopped. Have just started the Aciphex - will update in a few months to let you know my opinion.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/22/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Aciphex My doctor gave me a month supply of Aciphex to try. I still got heartburn, which I hadn't done while taking the other Rx's I'd been on (Nexium and Prilosec). I was also turned off by the fact that I had to pay a CO-PAY for just 30 pills!

Report
4 Stars
Posted 161 months ago (6/28/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Aciphex I sucked on 5 or 6 Tums everyday and drank milk, ate yogurt and peanut butter crackers to avoid heartburn. Tums work, but they taste bad. Aciphex cured me. I do have to have an endoscopy because my doc says the Aciphex is only supposed to be temporary.

Report
1.5 Stars
Posted 161 months ago (6/14/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Insomnia This drug caused me to have a bad case of insomnia. I could only sleep for about two hours...I would wake up and could never fall back to sleep. I got so sleepy during the day from lack of sleep but I was still unable to fall asleep for a nap. Upon stopping the drug I was able to sleep again!

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 162 months ago (5/12/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Barrett's esophagusReport

Aciphex - No side effects! I have been taking Aciphex for 2+ years for Barrett's tissue (and reflux) and it works well. It has ZERO side effects for me. In fact, the pharmacy insert says "This drug has no known side effects". In all cases the placebo had more side effects than the Aciphex. I took Nexium prior to Aciphex and it caused weight loss (after about 15 weeks).

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 162 months ago (5/12/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Aciphex - No side effects! I have been taking Aciphex for 2+ years for Barrett's tissue (and reflux) and it works well. It has ZERO side effects for me. In fact, the pharmacy insert says "This drug has no known side effects". In all cases the placebo had more side effects than the Aciphex. I took Nexium prior to Aciphex and it caused weight loss (after about 15 weeks).

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 162 months ago (5/11/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Surprising side effect Made me very sleepy. Despite chronic Fatigue I never fall asleep with the TV on, but did so on this stuff. And, it gave me a headache that didn't improve till I figured out it must be the cause & stopped it. I am OFF all heartburn meds since I am doing low carb & do not want to be on medications.

Report
1.5 Stars
Posted 163 months ago (4/23/2005)

RatedAciphexfor Gastroesophageal Reflux DiseaseReport

Didn't help my symptoms I too aciphex for about a month. It did not seem to help my symptoms at all. No side effects that I noted. Cost is an issue because my insurance is now limiting coverage for PPI medications to only 60 days. After that, you need a note from your doctor and your condition has to fall into certain categories and they may extend it. Otherwise, your on your own.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Why Prilosec Nexium might not work for you -(Proton pump inhibitors)

Aciphex Reviews
Aciphex Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Aciphex Reviews pictures

Aciphex Reviews recommend
Aciphex Reviews recommend photo

Aciphex Reviews pics
Aciphex Reviews photo

Aciphex Reviews Aciphex Reviews new pictures
Aciphex Reviews new images

pictures Aciphex Reviews
pics Aciphex Reviews

Watch Aciphex Reviews video
Watch Aciphex Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Aciphex Reviews, aciphex-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Aciphex Reviews, aciphex-reviews/ , aciphex-reviews/

Related News


10 Trendy Short Straight Hairstyles You Can Try
Behind The Scenes Of Meryl Streep’s Vogue’ CoverShoot
A Healthy Life Means a Longer Life
The 12 Best Workout Leggings to Buy in 2019
Pretty And Easy DIY Turn-Up Jeans
How to Be Gluten Free and Vegan
Bored People Are Pissed About Brooklyn Beckham Photographing a BurberryCampaign
How to Identify Quality Matcha Tea Powder
This Incredibly Brave Woman Went Above and Beyond to Track Down the Charleston Shooter
How to Drive Safely Around Children
A Cancer Survivor Had Twins and Then Died a Day Later From Congenital Heart Failure
What Galbanum Is and Smells Like
Occupational Asthma: When Work Makes You Wheeze
UPDATED Lucy Hale Upsets Followers With Fat Comments
The 400-Rep Bigger Chest Workout



Date: 05.12.2018, 20:51 / Views: 71485