Codeine: A Fairly Pointless Drug



CodeineReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
3 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/28/2005)

RatedCodeinefor Osteoarthritis of the spine (Facet joint degeneration)Report

Codeine phosphate Have taken these tablets on and off for years when I have a lot of pain, they are good and quite effective, however for me they seem to give me some tummy trouble and also make me constipated, so I only use them when all else fails Betty Brown

Report
3 Stars
Posted 157 months ago (10/28/2005)

RatedCodeinefor OsteoarthritisReport

Codeine phosphate Have taken these tablets on and off for years when I have a lot of pain, they are good and quite effective, however for me they seem to give me some tummy trouble and also make me constipated, so I only use them when all else fails Betty Brown

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 158 months ago (9/7/2005)

RatedCodeinefor Irritable bowel syndrome - Diarrhea (IBS-D)Report

codeine causes more problems than it cures I was put on codeine every 4 hours in hospital for ibs, and it dried my mouth, gave me hallucinations, made me extremely sleepy, and irritable as well. It did slow down bowel activity and relieve pain, but the cost in side effects was definitely way too high.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 163 months ago (4/21/2005)

RatedCodeinefor Multiple sclerosis - Relapsing-remitting (RRMS)Report

Codine Phosphate Tablets I use this and Tramadol for breakthrough pain, when it gets above the point I can cope with. Makes you out of it and confused. Plays merry hell with your bowels.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 164 months ago (4/1/2005)

RatedCodeinefor EndometriosisReport

Endometriosis: Codeine Over the course of the past 16 years I've been taking the generic form of codeine which is not listed on your chart. I ONLY take it as I need it as it can become habit-forming...for me it does help a great deal! I can't take Advil or Motrin or Aleve due to the pyschiatrict medications I'm taking (it throws everything off) so I'm very limited as to what I can take and extra strength tylenol (which is one of the things I can take) just doesn't do the "trick" for me when it comes to severe endo pain! Again, the generic form of codeine I take does help - but I can't stress enough that it should only be taken when needed! Please note: the dosage strength and frequency above is inaccurate - I had to put something in in order to send this page along......

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (2/27/2005)

RatedCodeinefor Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

codeine - use it but be aware! I find codeine very effective at controlling pain when I'm not in a good way. However, I've been warned that I shouldn't over use it, because it can be addictive. I try to only use it at night, and only when I really need it. I try to use it for no more then 3-4 days in a row, and overall no more than 10 days every month. This way I've been told I won't become addicted to it. Side effects: makes me very sleepy and incoherent, usually leaves me with a very dry mouth when I wake up the next morning. effectiveness: I usually take this in combination with valium which acts as a muscle relaxant. This means I'm getting the pain killing effect of the codeine & the relaxing effect of the valium working together to give me a good nights sleep, and help repair muscles which haven't been working well and are over stressed.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (2/23/2005)

RatedCodeinefor MigraineReport

Codeine once only Codeine is great for curing my headache--once. Second time it gives me a monster headache.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (2/17/2005)

RatedCodeinefor MigraineReport

Not my greatest recommendation for a bad headache I've suffered from migraines varying in intensity from mildly painful to absolutely excruciating and therefore have tried many painkillers to overcome the battle these big, annoying suckers bring. I must say that after I was prescribed Tylenol #3 (30mg of codeine phosphate) I was to the point where I was willing to try anything since I was so beyond desperate for at least a teeny tiny bit of pain control. What ended up happening was that not only did the codeine help only slightly, but it also made me incredibly nauseated which did NOT go well with my already about-to-puke tummy, so I would definitely NOT recommend this drug for severe headaches. I will say that I have found one Vicodin ES (7.5/750mg) to be MUCH better than this drug when it comes to pain relief and that while it does carry with it the risk of upset stomach, a glass of milk or munching on a few crackers can significantly reduce the probability of that happening, but I'd definitely say not to overdo it with the food ingestion either before or after taking a Vicodin or any painkiller for that matter because I've noticed from my own personal experience that it tends to very much slow down the absorption of the medication, thereby causing it to take quite a bit more time to work and provide you with a source of comfort and improvement in your bad headache/migraine. If for some reason, Vicodin ES does not work well enough alone, I have also found that adding along two 50mg Ultram tablets to your headache pain pill regimen can greatly increase the chances of you being able to relax and breathe again because your pain is now well managed. But that's just my opinion...so for now, leave the codeine phosphate to the smaller aches and pains, along with colds/sore throats/coughs (because all narcotics act as anti-tussives) and to be aware of the major risk of emesis that comes with it. Good luck my fellow headache sufferers and may you be blessed with ad

Report
3 Stars
Posted 165 months ago (2/8/2005)

RatedCodeinefor Multiple sclerosis - Relapsing-remitting (RRMS)Report

Weak Pain Killer I used this drug to get over the pain behind my eyes once, it seemed to work but I think my brain soon got used to the chemicals as I had to be put onto Co-Codamol aferwards which I find works a lot better for me, especially with spasm pain.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 169 months ago (10/21/2004)

RatedCodeinefor Irritable bowel syndrome - Constipation (IBS-C)Report

codeine i was given codeine phosphate for the pain of ibs, which it did relieve in the short term, in the long term however (and by long term i mean using it for more than ONE day) it produced more pain, because it added very severe constipation. if your main problem is diarrhea then this will help you no end, but if like me, you have intermittent constipation and bloating, steer clear of this one as it will make those things worse.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 170 months ago (9/24/2004)

RatedCodeinefor Back pain- chronicReport

Helps a little... depends on how bad your pain is. I wouldn't recommend it for any pain over about 6-7.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 170 months ago (9/24/2004)

RatedCodeinefor Spondylolysis and spondylolisthesisReport

Helps a little... depends on how bad your pain is. I wouldn't recommend it for any pain over about 6-7.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 171 months ago (8/31/2004)

RatedCodeinefor Interstitial cystitisReport

Help/tired I consider it my strongest pain reliever....but it can often mean a lot of sleeping when needed....which is much better than IC pain....but I would rather something equaly strong that allowed me to live normally.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 171 months ago (8/30/2004)

RatedCodeinefor Ulcerative ColitisReport

Found this on accident...Probably NOT A GOOD IDEA! I was given codeine and Tylenol 3 on different occasions to relieve migraines and noticed that even during a very bad UC flare, I had no BM the next day after taking this. Although it was a pleasant relief, I don't really think that not having BMs is really the best course of treatment, I just thought I would mention it here. If memory serves, I also think it was once mentioned to me that too much painkiller could potentially trigger toxic megacolon too.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 171 months ago (8/24/2004)

RatedCodeinefor Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

Bronchitis treatment helped FM pain I was prescribed Codeine cough syrup when I came down with bronchitis. In addition to being an excellent cough suppressant, it helped tame the muscle pains of FM, especially when I added a couple of ibuprofen. Not a bad "side effect". As for side effects of the medication, there were none that I noticed. I don't get a buzz from it, nor does it make me sleepy, so when I'm on it, I'm a lot more functional than without it.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 174 months ago (6/1/2004)

RatedCodeinefor EndometriosisReport

Makes me go to sleep! I take solpadol (paracetamol and codeine) for moderate to severe pain. It helps really well when I'm in moderate pain, but not for severe pain. It makes me go to sleep which is no bad thing when I'm in pain.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 181 months ago (10/24/2003)

RatedCodeinefor EndometriosisReport

Only painkiller that I'm allowed Codeine and paracetamol are the only painkillers I'm allowed to have due to kidney disease. Mersyndol forte works fairly well for endo/adeno pain, however, you do build up a resistance to it (especially if taking it for migraines as well). It does make my brain a little foggy however.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 181 months ago (10/10/2003)

RatedCodeinefor Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

Codeine or Tylenol with Codeine I do not tolerate codeine products very well. It does not seem to provide adequate pain relief, and I always feel very nauseated when I have taken it. Worst of all, I get pounding headaches from it. I do not get any of these effects from other medications like Percocet.

Report
3.5 Stars
Posted 187 months ago (4/28/2003)

RatedCodeinefor Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

Codeine Sulfate It works just ok, but it does not last long enough and wears off 3 hours before you can take your next dose.

Report
1.5 Stars
Posted 189 months ago (2/18/2003)

RatedCodeinefor Fibromyalgia syndrome (FMS)Report

Codeine I took it for several months. It was more effective than Darvon but it caused constipation. Did not last long in effectiveness and was expensive. Not really good for long term pain relief.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Legal Lean Review (HONEST TRUTH)

Codeine Reviews
Codeine Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Codeine Reviews pictures

Codeine Reviews recommend
Codeine Reviews forecast photo

Codeine Reviews foto
Codeine Reviews picture

Codeine Reviews Codeine Reviews new photo
Codeine Reviews new pics

foto Codeine Reviews
images Codeine Reviews

Watch Codeine Reviews video
Watch Codeine Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Codeine Reviews, codeine-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Codeine Reviews, codeine-reviews/ , codeine-reviews/

Related News


Not Just a Summer Fling: 10 Products Were Carrying With Us Into Fall
Luncheonette at All Star Lanes
Bette Midler’s love life advice to Jennifer Aniston
Fans Think That The Weeknd Shaded Selena Gomez’s Kidney Transplant in ThisSong
Donald Trump met with Indian business partners during his presidential transition
Mamas A Rolling Stone
How to Vaccinate Horses
Is It Safe To Take Melatonin Pills To Help You Fall Asleep
How to Eat a Donut
Triamcinolone Ophthalmic Reviews
How to Draft a Sales Representative Agreement
How to Write a Rhetorical Analysis
Spinach Sauté with Pine Nuts and Golden Raisins
Costume National SpringSummer 2014 RTW – Milan Fashion Week



Date: 04.12.2018, 23:41 / Views: 71383